Chapter · Kids Books

Glory Be

51zwR6ejyVL._SX349_BO1,204,203,200_In 1964, main character, Glory, is turning twelve and without her (at first) realizing it, the civil rights movement. Augusta Scattergood’s “Glory Be” tells the story of the summer Glory turned twelve. It takes place in Hanging Moss, Mississippi where not everyone is ready to move forward. And by move forward I mean black and white not being so black and white.

In this fiction book, the reader experiences friendship, bullying, coming of age, sisterhood, father relationships, and of course a little peak into the history of segregation.

“Glory Be” is a good read to introduce the concept of civil rights and begin building discussion.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s