Chapter · Kids Books

“Ellie’s Story: A Dog’s Purpose Novel”

It may be surprising to admit, but “Ellie’s Story: A Dog’s Purpose Novel” by W. Bruce Cameron, is the first kids animal book I have ever read. There may have been an animal book here or there that I skimmed through as a kid, but most of the children’s books I tend to read are non-fiction, graphic novels, or realistic fiction.

I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about it at first, and I may have even cringed a little when22238177 within the first page I knew it was coming from Ellie’s, the German Shepherd’s, perspective. However very quickly I got used to it and in fact ended up enjoying the book!

It is an excellent book for 2-6th graders who are either dog lovers or in need of appreciating dogs. The reader follows the story of Ellie, from the time she was a puppy to being adopted by an officer who trains her to be a search and rescue dog, and on her various rescues. Gordon Korman, author of “No More Dead Dogs,” would even be proud!

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

