Books · Chapter · YA Fiction · Young Adult · Young Adult Books

Lily and Dunkin by Donna Gephart

The other day I was looking for a new read, and came across “Lily and Dunkin” by Donna Gephart on the New JF shelf. I liked the cover, looked it up on goodreads and saw it has excellent reviews, two starred reviews, and sounded like a possible read alike to “George” by Alex Gino. So I started it and finished the book in one day (which isn’t typical for me).

27066007“Lily and Dunkin” is the kind of book you don’t want to say too much about, because it would spoil the story, but I will say that I 100% recommend the book. The book involves family, friendship, bullying, transgender, mental illness, moving, new schools, and in general 8th grade life.

I know there has been some books that have come out lately with transgender as the topic, and I feel that “Lily and Dunkin” did it a favor, because it isn’t the only focus in the book. Meaning that a reader looking for realistic fiction that involves the topics mentioned above could enjoy the book even if they wouldn’t have normally pick up a book like “George.”

Despite some of the heavy topics in “Lily and Dunkin,” I giggled to myself at times (so there is some humor) and loved the double narration. I have read books before with double narration, but I can’t remember one where the narration overlaps time. So you get to read certain situations happening in real time from both characters perspective. Sorry if that sounds confusing, but the narration is just done well, period!

Anyway, I recommend it, and if you have read it or read it please let me know what you think! I think it’s an excellent book to bring up discussion among readers of all ages! 🙂

Leave a Reply

